Keeping all our paws crossed

My favorite Barley pic of all time.

My favorite Barley pic of all time.

Poor Barley’s had a rough week. Actually, I think my week has been rougher, but I feel worse for him. I would clean up pee every day without complaint (almost) if it meant my boy was okay. I’m just not sure that’s going to happen.

As I mentioned in my last post, Barley’s been showing some odd symptoms (accidents in the house, increased drinking, tiredness, etc.). He’s also been extremely hungry for the better part of a year. He always acts like he’s starving and it’s been getting worse. I spoke to the vet about it over the summer and he didn’t think it was a big deal; he suggested I add green beans to Barley’s food to give it more bulk.

Barley’s hunger has only gotten worse, though. He now eats out of a slow-feeder bowl because he was eating so fast and so intensely, he was choking himself and barfing up mouthfuls of unchewed food. The bowl has helped slow him down, but he’s so frustrated, he now whines when he eats. He’s in a panic over not getting his food. It’s very disturbing.

So, the short story is that we’re going to see the vet today. A friend suggested it might be diabetes, which is very common in schnauzers. All the symptoms fit. I don’t know, though. At his age, I’m sure there could be a lot of options. His symptoms are still somewhat mild. He is drinking probably twice as much as usual, but he’s only had accidents a couple times a week. He’s not exactly spraying the house, which I guess happens in diabetics. Dogs, that is. Diabetic dogs.

This is me trying not to worry. I’m just hoping for the best. I’ll keep you all posted on what we find out. Depending on what tests he needs (liver, kidneys, etc.), I may not know for a couple days. Until then, please keep your paws crossed!

3 thoughts on “Keeping all our paws crossed

  1. Barley will be OK, I will keep him in my thoughts and prayers. Sending #pawcircles of love from all of us…Bosco, Ginger and Rockford are all holding up their paws and pointing to the NW with healing energy !

Leave a Reply

