Two weeks down

58462_1495769911383_529514_n

I miss him in the morning.

I miss him in the car.

I miss him when I go to the bathroom or take a shower (he was always sitting at my feet or sleeping on the bath mat).

I miss him when I leave for work.

I miss him when I get home.

I miss him tugging at my pant legs.

I miss him when I snuggle the other dogs.

I miss him at mealtimes.

I miss him when I watch tv.

I miss him when we go for walks.

I miss him when I leave his leash on the hanger.

I miss him when we hike.

I miss him at night, when my hand needs a furry belly to scratch.

I miss him when I eat popcorn and there’s no one to dive for the pieces that fall.

I miss him when I think I forgot to give him his medicine.

I miss him when I see his things in our closet.

I miss him when I, without thinking, tell someone we have four dogs.

I miss him when I go up the stairs at night with empty arms.

I miss him reminding me that he needs a cookie.

I miss him every minute of every day.

2 thoughts on “Two weeks down

  1. Amanda, I read this and my heart got heavy because I still have a hard time knowing he is not with you anymore. I signed up for a session with Rebecca in July, Rockford is not doing so well, and I fear her legs will not support her much longer. Rebecca can talk with animals who have passed over to the RB. I thought I would ask her about Barley, and if she could reach him. I know how much you miss him and in all honestly, you think of him at least a million times a day. I hope you don’t mind. If she can reach him i’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

