23 Months

img_4329

So much has been happening this month. He’s growing so fast and talking so much. And, he’s sleeping really well, which only makes me worry he’ll stop sleeping and thrust me back into No Sleep Land. I live in fear.

At any rate, Little Man is sporting the most beautiful platinum hair ever sprouted on human head. While there isn’t much of it, what’s there is gorgeous. He plays with it when he’s tired. It’s adorable.

I can’t believe he’s going to be two next month. The time has gone so quickly. I’m at once happy and sad, and full of so many emotions, it overwhelms me. I didn’t know I could love someone this much – and that’s a very vulnerable feeling. He is my whole world and I can’t imagine a time when he will go out on his own. It tears me up.

Clearly, I’m having a day, so on to happier stuff.

All the Words He’s talking more and more. In fact, he chatters most of the day. I can understand some of it, but I still frustrate him with my blank stares. Learning his language is challenging. I’m old. He’s doing much better learning mine. I look forward to knowing what’s really going on in his complicated brain. That kid is always thinking.

Pee Pee Progress Harry has been sitting on the potty for a while, but last week he actually peed a little. I was ecstatic. Of course, he hasn’t done it again since and now he won’t even sit on it for more than a few seconds. Baby steps. I don’t see many adults who aren’t house trained, so I’m not worried. He’ll come around in his own time.

Happy Hiker To say that toddlers have energy is a cliché, but I’m alarmed at how much activity this kid needs to get tired. On my days off, we’ll go for two walks a day, with playing and a nap in between. He loves to go to the park and walk the nature loop to feed the squirrels. We leave piles of oats under the trees. Harry has to visit every tree, lest some squirrel not get a snack. It’s so fun. But, he’s very thorough. He also loves to take the dogs to the river trail or to the state park trails. He’s an outdoorsy kind of guy.

Mr. Shy He’s been a bit shy with strangers and other kids. I notice he tends to go quiet at the park or when we’re out and about. However, occasionally, he’ll start passing out high-fives to every person he sees. He doesn’t want to talk to them. He just wants to give them a high-five.

Budding Veterinarian Harry loves animals. I’m sure all kids do, but he’s most at peace when he’s interacting with animals. From feeding the ducks and squirrels at the park to meeting every dog or cat he sees to riding Amy’s horse, he loves animals. He’s especially close to Dougal right now. The two are inseparable. I really hope he keeps this love in his heart forever. It’s so important.

Snuggle Bug One of the things for which I’m most grateful is that Harry is so loving and affectionate. He loves giving kisses to everything and sharing everything he has. He shares all his food and drinks with the dogs and his toys. He tries to give strangers his stuff. He is so generous and kind. I worry about that since he’s an only child, but Ben is so generous. Harry has a good role model there.

Very Sophisticated Harry is obsessed with drinking tea. He wants his own tea in a cup, preferably a Starbucks cup. And he wants to drink it all. He takes his cup in his two hands, smiles and says, “Tea,” then takes a huge drink. He follows it with an “Ahhhh, tea” and another huge smile. It’s too much.

Mama’s Boy Right now, Harry is my shadow. Between him and Otis, I don’t remember what it’s like to poop alone. But, it’s so darn sweet. Harry wants to be with me every second. He’s my kitchen helper, my sous chef, my tea buddy, my hiking partner, my snuggle bug…he just wants to do whatever I’m doing and vice versa. I’ve read this will change when he’s about 5, when he’ll suddenly want to do man things with his dad. That will break my heart, so I’m soaking up this mama time as much as I can. If I could take a two-year sabbatical from work, I would. I want to be with him all the time. Though I might appreciate a solo poop if one is offered.

Likes

  • Bananas
  • Basketballs
  • Footballs
  • Mickey Mouse and Goofy
  • Oranges
  • Nakedness
  • Tea (peach or peppermint)
  • All the animals
  • Walking Otis on the leash
  • Books/reading
  • Cheese
  • Kisses
  • Carrots
  • Christmas lights
  • Mowing with the bubble mower
  • Balloons
  • Flags

Dislikes

  • Getting his teeth brushed
  • Getting his hair washed
  • Diaper changes
  • Me or Ben doing stuff for him – he’s a big boy and wants to do it himself now

 

4 thoughts on “23 Months

Leave a Reply

